top of page

Reflections


Happy 2018! I titled this post Reflections NOT because it’s a post reflecting on 2017, which it is, but because everyone needs to go listen to Reflections by MisterWives immediately, and know that’s how we (handsome group in photo above) rung in the New Year. We were toasting and dancing when the song hits 0:44 seconds and it was almost transcendental (just listen, you’ll get it). But yes, I am looking back on 2017 today, and here is to hoping I can make 2018 as fabulous as 2017 was. Here’s a quick post of the big moments from 2017, good and bad, and the things I’m looking forward to most for 2018.

 

The Best (and Worst) of 2017

  1. Organizing the Pastaria Big Shark Women’s Elite Team. I don’t think there are words to express the gratitude I feel towards Mike Weiss and Gerard Craft for giving this team a chance. As a brand new women’s elite team, Mike and Gerard took a leap of faith providing us with bikes and funds to race a good portion of the PRT. Our race schedule included big UCI

races like Joe Martin and Winston Salem, and most of the major crits. The highlights for me were Ashley Weaver making the break at Fort McClellan, Amy McClintock’s podium finish at The Hill during Gateway Cup, and finding out at the end of the season that new elite cyclists were interested in our program for 2018. Our main goal was to work together and provide a starting point for women cyclists looking to take racing more seriously. I think we did that (not without hiccups though). For example, we found out in March that Sugoi wouldn’t be able to produce our kit order and we had to switch to Castelli. That delay meant a lot of women were wearing last year’s men’s kits until Tulsa Tough. Outfitting an 8 person squad to UCI standards at Joe Martin was a headache to say the least. But through the challenges we learned how committed our community was to supporting us, and it made us all realize the true reason we race is because we love the sport. It didn’t matter how we looked because we were there to affect the outcome.

  1. Redlands with Amber Neben. I was desperate to find a guest ride for Redlands, so imagine my surprise when the team manager for the Dare To Be Project emailed me saying Amber had given the green light for me to take the last spot on the squad. Those of you that followed Redlands will know, Amber took the yellow jersey on Stage 1 (photo left), and held it through the very end to a heartbreaking loss on sunset loop to UHC. It was a life altering experience. My first Redlands and I was defending Amber Neben in the yellow jersey. Typing that sentence now, it still feels surreal. I couldn’t have dreamt of that moment. Not to mention our little composite squad managed to hold off the big pro teams until the last stage, which is a feat due entirely to Ambe

r’s superhuman abilities to both lead and execute. Amber is incredibly humble, kind, and a damn good racer. I learned more about being a good domestique in that stage race than any other race to that point. It was the hardest physical feat I have ever attempted, and I’m proud to say I finished. I think I asked Amber every day if she wanted to trade me out for a real pro. Her answer was always “No, you do your best. You’ve been great so far.”

  1. Guest riding for IS Corps. I almost didn’t pick up Dave Schneider’s phone call in time because I was happy dancing around the room after seeing his name pop up on my incoming calls. Dave was calling to offer me a guest ride for BC Superweek, and potentially Littleton and Tour of Colorado. Say whaaaat? The team would pick me up in Saint Louis the day after crit nationals and we

’d drive to BC Canada in the team van. I was floored. Racing with IS Corps was an incredible experience. Dave invested in me as a rider, teaching me strategy, techniques to get the most from my training, how to hold myself on my bike, and how to be a good teammate. I really learned how to race on a team with IS Corps. Each rider is incredibly professional, kind, and talented. The highlight of my time with them was helping Skylar and Sam get 1st and 2nd in Littleton. The photo shows a local newspaper cover with me, Skylar, and Katie Compton in the Littleton Crit.

  1. Tour of Colorado. My first time racing (or even riding) at altitude was

the historic Garden of the Gods loop. I’d tried to prepare with a lot of hill repeats, but no amount of sea level training in Saint Louis would get me ready for 8,000+ feet. My heart rate hit 211 the first time up. I was dropped the first lap of Garden of the Gods and spent the rest of the race trying to calm my breathing while also desperately chasing the pack. I was crushed that I wasn’t able to stay in and do my part for the team, but I learned a lot about how my body reacts to altitude.

  1. An Offer from Flamingo. My 2017 season closed on a huge positive when I accepted the offer to race for Papa Johns p/b Trek. The team welcomed me immediately into a world of support I had only imagined I’d receive someday. I rode the Hincapie Gran Fondo with the team in October and it was a blast. The culture on the team is very much the fun, positive environment that racers need to flourish. I can’t wait to see where 2018 takes us.

So just what am I looking forward to most in 2018?

1. Valley of the Sun and Training Camp in Arizona. February 15-27 I get to jet over to Phoenix to race Valley of the Sun and train in Phoenix and Tucson.

2. The Pan Florida Challenge. Look for a detailed blog this week about the Pan Florida Challenge. But the short story is a ride across Florida to fight child hunger.

3. Team Camp in Florida. Team camp in March is the first time we’ll all be together as a team! I’m so excited to train with the full squad and get to know everyone better.

4. Racing with the Papa John’s Squad. I have that off season need-to-race itch and I can’t wait for 2018 to get underway.

bottom of page