top of page

Introduction

Hi Everyone! Happy New Year. I'm so excited for the opportunies that lie ahead in 2018. I've started this blog to chronicle my training, races, and just plain fun on the bike. I look forward to sharing this journey with you.

 

A little about me. I'm Hannah, and I've been racing my bike for two seasons + some change. Last year was my first full season racing in the pro fields and whew! it was incredible. My season was full ups and downs, starting in over 50 races, guest rides with IS Corps and Amber Neben's Dare To Be squad at Redlands... At times, I felt like I'd been thrown in the deep end without knowing how to swim. However, my coaches, teammates, and mentors kept me afloat and I closed the season on a major positive-- signing my first contract with Papa John's p/b Trek for the 2018 season. I can't wait to see what lies ahead with this new squad.

Cycling is more than just a sport to me. I'm not a religious person, but it's fair to say cycling affects me on a spiritual level. I find peace on my bike. I've learned more about life and happiness in the three years I've been racing and training then I have in any other pursuit.

Cycling has taught me many things, but to name a few:

  • I've learned to find value in breathing through an uncomfortable situation

  • The ability to liberate my will to suceed from physical and mental constraints like pain and fear

  • The power of positive thinking

  • Gratitude for my body's ability to endure and for the ability to train and replenish with tasty food

  • The need to process and learn from failure.

and the best part? I'm still learning!

 
Just over the finish at the HIncapie Gran Fondo with teammates Madison (left) and Izzie (right).

I've seen and done some incredible things on my bike, and I find I'm connecting on a deeper level to the physical world around me. At times letting the beauty of the natural world overtake me and pausing for a moment to appreciate my place on this earth. I hope to share my cycling journey through this blog, and to encourage readers to chase their dreams, commit to their goals, and find meaning in their pursuits.

Let's devour the space around us.

Hannah


bottom of page